WCMS Foundation Board of Directors



Lisa Ladd, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: Blue Ridge Community Health Services (WNC)


Kathleen Rodberg


McGuire, Wood & Bissette Law Firm


Susan McDowell, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: Hot Springs Health Center (Madison)


Brad Burlingham


Parsec Financial


Past Chair

C. Britt Peterson, MD

Specialty: Psychiatry

Practice: Mission Psychiatric Services (Buncombe)

Past Chair

S. Todd Wallenius, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: WNC Community Health Services (Buncombe)

Director at Large

Lorna Barnette

Health Care Consultant (Jackson)

Director at Large

Carol Coulson, MD

Specialty: Ob/Gyn

Practice: MAHEC Ob/Gyn Specialists (Buncombe)

Director at Large

Jim Early, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: East Asheville Family Health Center (Buncombe)


Leslie Council

Practice Manager

Asheville Family Medicine (Buncombe)


Abdalla “AB” Abu Baker, Rph, MBA

Market Health and Wellness Director, WalMart


Paul Clayton

Third Year Medical Student

Past Chair

Kate Queen, MD

Specialty: Rheumatology

Practice: Mountain Medical Associates (Haywood)

Director at Large

Rachel Raab, MD

Specialty: Oncology

Practice: Cancer Care of WNC (Buncombe)

Director at Large

Winfield Word-Sims, MD

Specialty: Nephrology

Practice: Mountain Kidney & Hypertension Associates (Buncombe)

Director at Large

Rachel Keever, MD

Specialty: Cardiology

Practice: Asheville Cardiology Associates (Rutherford)

Development Council Chair

Margarita Gonzalez

Vickery Family Medicine

Ex-Officio Non Voting

Association President

Raymond Thertulien, MD

Specialty: Hematology & Oncology

Practice: Asheville Hematology & Oncology (Buncombe)

Association President-Elect

S. Mark McNeill, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: Trillium Family Medicine (Buncombe)

WCMS Staff

Miriam Schwarz

CEO/Executive Director

Western Carolina Medical Society