WCMS Foundation Board of Directors



Susan McDowell, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: Hot Springs Health Center (Madison)

Vice Chair

Carol Coulson, MD

Specialty: Ob/Gyn

Practice: MAHEC Ob/Gyn Specialists (Buncombe)


Brad Burlingham


Parsec Financial


Kathleen Rodberg


McGuire, Wood & Bissette Law Firm


Past Chair

Lisa Ladd, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: Blue Ridge Community Health Services (WNC)

Past Chair

Britt Peterson, MD

Specialty: Psychiatry

Practice: Mission Psychiatric Services (Buncombe)


Abdalla “AB” Abu Baker, Rph, MBA

Market Health and Wellness Director, WalMart

Director at Large

Lorna Barnette

Health Care Consultant (Jackson)

Director at Large

Jim Early, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: East Asheville Family Health Center (Buncombe)

Director at Large

Rachel Keever, MD

Specialty: Cardiology

Practice: Asheville Cardiology Associates (Rutherford)

Director at Large

Todd Wallenius, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: WNC Community Health Services (Buncombe)


Leslie Lake

Practice Manager

Mission Neurology

Director at Large

Rivers Woodward

Specialty: Resident

Practice: MAHEC Family Medicine

Director at Large

Winfield Word-Sims, MD

Specialty: Nephrology

Practice: Mountain Kidney & Hypertension Associates (Buncombe)

Development Council Chair

Margarita Gonzalez

Vickery Family Medicine

Ex-Officio Non Voting

Association President-Elect

Mark McNeill, MD

Specialty: Family Medicine

Practice: Trillium Family Medicine (Buncombe)

Association President Elect

Mike Parmer, DO

Specialty: Post Acute & Palliative Care Services

Practice: Mission Health

WCMS Staff

Miriam Schwarz

CEO/Executive Director

Western Carolina Medical Society